The Crucible: Just How Does it Stack Up With the Competition?

Guest post from KatharineD, comparing the reviews of The Crucible to other theater from this season.

image1
Source:The Old Vic email newsletter

As the press reviews for The Crucible started to pile up on Friday 4th July, the day after opening night, it became clear that the result was better than could ever have been reasonably expected. All day Friday, I struggled to keep up with the flow, as one review after another appeared online. The Telegraph- 5 stars, The Times, The Guardian, Time Out, and The Evening Standard, all followed suit with the same rating – five stars. Waiting for   The Independent,  the last important review to make its tardy appearance, reminded me of the night The Return Of The King was raking in Academy Awards, and no one wanted the run of success to come to an abrupt halt. Gratifyingly, Paul Taylor from The Independent agreed with his fellow reviewers from the other important print outlets, and also awarded the production 5 stars.

Once the initial, heady euphoria died down, I began to wonder just what six 5 star reviews actually signified- how common an occurrence was this in the English theatre scene, where important theater  is judged to be some of the best in the world?

I’d read that Michael Billington of The Guardian, rarely hands out 5 stars, so I thought it would be interesting to search The Guardian to see how many productions Billington had awarded a top rating to this year. Out of an astonishing 102 stage reviews from January through to 3rd July this year, just four were considered worthy of 5 stars, Versailles, Testament Of Mary, Skylight and The Crucible. I tracked the success of the other three shows against the ratings they garnered from the remaining big five print outlets, and none came close. Skylight, starring Bill Nighy and Carey Mulligan, managed three 5 star reviews.

05SKYLIGHT-master675

Bill Nighy and Carey Mulligan in Skylight

I recalled the rave reviews I’d been reading about A View From The Bridge, starring Mark Strong and Nicola Walker, which ended it’s run at the Young Vic in June. It seemed apt to compare two recent Arthur Miller productions, staged in twin theatres; it was also extremely well regarded, and as it happens, The Guardian was it’s only 4 star review amongst a sea of 5’s. Almost as good as The Crucible, but not quite.

1982195_10152241474013346_322890087_n

Nicola Walker & Mark Strong in A View From the Bridge

Other Desert Cities  staged this season at the The Old Vic received 4 stars across the board.

What if we were to take a look at the critical success of Coriolanus, staged late last year at the Donmar, with Tom Hiddleston headlining the cast? A number of people I know either saw the production in person, or in the broadcast at the cinema, and thought very highly of it- all the major reviewers gave it 4 star.

Similarly, the critics gave four stars to the Sam Mendes directed King Lear starring the acclaimed stage actor Simon Russell Beale, earlier this year at The National.

No doubt it’s partly due to the uncommon run of 5 star reviews for The Crucible that  prompted the article by Mark Shenton in The Stage, ‘Are Critics Too Generous’, which Perry discussed a couple of days ago here . Just exactly how uncommon unanimous 5 star reviews are,  I haven’t ascertained, but clearly those six reviewers saw something in Yael Farber’s staging of The Crucible that they felt set it apart from other critically acclaimed productions and was deserving of 5 stars.

30 thoughts on “The Crucible: Just How Does it Stack Up With the Competition?

  1. Thanks Katharine, very interesting post. I read some tweet stating that both Miller plays Bridge and Crucible are the best plays of 2014 (until now, of course) so apparently people agree with critics ratings. It’s very important for Richard that The Crucible is, by now, the play receiving the best reviews. A production that will be remembered, I’m sure about this, as many Farber ‘s ones are.

    Like

    • Good to see two Spooks alumni doing well on stage, hmm! Yael Farber is probably swamped with offers to direct plays all round the world, and hopefully her lead actor will be in demand as well.

      Like

    • It was quite an interesting exercise, as it happens. I’d love to hear from anyone who’s familiar with the London theatre scene, who could fill us in on previous highly rated productions.

      Like

        • That’s why I checked Coriolanus, because it was one I’d heard of that had done well. Other than that, it’s hard to know how to go about it, other than searching past Olivier award winners- I could try that, now I think about it.

          Like

          • I think it’s a tedious task. But Olivier nominations would give you a clue where to start – but it would take a long time because there are so many shows, and with rep, there are even more.

            Like

        • I had a quick look at Benedict Cumberbatch’s Frankenstein from 2011 and it seems it got mostly four stars. As did David Tennant’s Richard II with the RSC last year

          Like

  2. Great research, thanks Katharine! I knew TC did well, but not just how well. It’s a bit scary to think what it can mean in terms of awards – but I’m certainly hoping it will mean future arrangements.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Anonymous

  4. Thank you, Katherine, for putting in the work on this topic. I was wondering how rare/significant five star ratings are regarding the London theatre scene. I was way too lazy to do it myself. Don’t tell Richard, he’ll be pissed at me.

    Like

    • Happy to do the checking. Quite a number of plays get five star reviews from one or two of the big critics, but what sets The Crucible apart is that they’re ALL in agreement this time.

      Like

  5. I can add that I’ve now checked back as far as January 2011, and the only play I’ve found that comes close to the universal acclaim of The Crucible is a comedy starring James Corden, ‘One Man, Two Guvnors’, from 2011. It received five 5 stars and one 4, the same as ‘A View From The Bridge’.

    Like

    • WOW – this is pretty terrific news. Perhaps you might think of a short catch up post. I think people would be interested. So in at least five years, no other play has garnered such acclaim on the London stage.

      Like

  6. Thanks for this! I was wondering myself about all the kudos. This is really a big deal, isn’t it? It’s not everyday a production garners raves across the board (Daily Mail doesn’t ever really count).
    What’s confusing for me is that this spectacular, almost too good to be true reception of Richard’s first starting role in the ‘big leagues’ theater was exactly what my fan self was expecting/wanting to happen. That it actually did, and that it is truly a phenomenal event to make such a hit has me reeling a bit. I feel very validated in following this amazing actor. And I’m ecstatic that he’s doing what he does best and getting the wide acclaim he deserves. I hope the doors of opportunity for him have just opened to the stratosphere of possibility. Will he be known as one of the greats of his generation? One can only wonder….
    Then again, maybe all this euphoria is going to my head!

    Like

  7. Pingback: RA Pocket Shrine 32/? – Mr Thornton Travels | GUYLTY PLEASURE

  8. Pingback: KatharineD Proves that The Crucible is the Most Acclaimed London Play in Five Years | Armitage Agonistes

  9. I’m really happy for the excellent reviews. My friends and I managed to informally talk with some of the cast ( as I wrote at http://flyhigh-by-learnonline.blogspot.it/2014/07/london-crucible-experience.html ) and they were so worried about press night, so surprised and grateful for our comments and compliments. But they are all brilliant and the production/direction deserves the recognition it has got so far. To even greater success! Although, I’m motherly worried for Richard’s health and,especially , for his beautiful voice: doing what I saw him doing for such a long time, each night (or even twice a day), will be really hard. Fingers crossed fot him !

    Like

Leave a comment