Eat Some Pasta, Richard Armitage – They Say It Helps Jet-Lag

(And my Spaghetti a’la Grigio or Penne AOP is just what you need -recipes upon request)

We all noticed how jet-lagged and knackered Richard Armitage appeared in the latest pictures we saw from his Clickonline interview.  I thought he looked a little tired at the BAFTA Tea Party as well. Field Reporter and Investigative Journalist , KatharineD- (by-line Sydney), took a close look at Mr. Armitage’s itinerary over the last year.  I’d be happy with one tenth of the airline miles he’s probably banked (though flying private doesn’t count). I wonder how many miles he’s actually traveled?

Sydney -This is a timeline of Richard Armitage’s  travels so far this year, just to show what a ‘quiet’ year looks like after the 2012 press junket (Wellington, Sydney, Tokyo, New York, Toronto, London) finished, and before the 2013 version (Los Angeles,….?) gets under way.

The information was verified by press reports and reliable tweets, but is by no means definitive. Hopefully there were a couple of holidays (up a mountain, when Adam Brown tried to get in touch with him?), mixed in amongst the work and PR schedules.

3rd Feb:  Los Angeles – meeting film producers?
9th Feb:  US– location unknown- filming pickups for Into The Storm
 
6th – 8th March:  London– Hobbit DVD press junket
                                            Twitter Q&A
                                            Lorraine Show
                                            Radio interviews
image
7th – 10th April:   London– Radio interviews
17th April:  New York– Todd Snyder’s fashion store
image (1)
29th April- 2nd May:  Sydney – Hobbit DVD Press junket
                                                              Press, Radio, TV interviews
                                                              Photoshoot
                                                              Popcorn Taxi Q&A
image(4)
Late May- 27th? July:  Wellington– Hobbit pickup shooting- 10 weeks
12th- 14th August:       London– Filming fashion shoot for Esquire magazine?
18th August:  New York–  Interview with Kool Kiwis
28th August:  London– Hobbit ADR session with Graham McTavishimage (2)
6th September:     New York  Interview with Juliet Izon
17th September:  US– location unknown (L.A. ?)- filming pickups for Into The Storm
blkskyfinal
 
22nd September:  Los Angeles– BAFTA Emmy Tea Party
28th September:  London– ClickOnline Hobbit interview
4th October:  US– location unknown- Hobbit interview.

33 thoughts on “Eat Some Pasta, Richard Armitage – They Say It Helps Jet-Lag

    • That’s just the travel- doesn’t take into account the exhausting time he had of it back in NZ for those ten weeks. That’d knock anyone sideways- all those other armies he had to battle.

      Like

      • I agree, the jet-lag alone would get anyone. Years ago I used to travel for work, so I know how tiring and disorienting (?) it can be. Thanks for putting this all together KatharineD, puts things in perspective. Mix that with the new world of international recognition he finds himself in now, and I admire him more for his mostly good nature 🙂

        Like

        • It’s just that he has so little time in between long flights and changes of time zones to decompress. And of course, he’s not alone. Lots of people travel like that, but not all of them have to look great and be “on.” as soon as they arrive.

          Like

        • I was curious to see for myself- it all becomes a blur after a while. It’s the quick back and forth from US to London with not much break in between that’s a bit mind boggling.- he’d be forever resetting his watch and trying to remember where he was.

          Like

  1. I can offer him Pasta alla Carbonara, all’Amatriciana, al Ragù, Lasagne, Ravioli, Tortellini (those last 2 all handmade by little micra), and many other Italian recipes he could ask for. Me good cook. Me volunteer 😛
    p.s.: and if this wasn’t enough we also have the greatest collection of red wines he can hope for. A little of red wine can do miracles 😉

    Like

    • Allora, you didn’t think I was just waiting to see what the little Florentine would come up with? My l’matriciana is pretty good and I use guanciale when I can get it.

      Like

      • Very good! Guanciale is the perfect ingredient. Bravo! Which pasta do you use? Bucatini? This are the traditional one but not everyone loves it. Now I will make you laugh: I don’t like spaghetti at all! I preferred short pasta, but I love bucatini and trenette. I know, I know, I’m weird.
        And do you remember to cook your pasta al dente? It’s the secret of a good dish 🙂

        Like

  2. yes Bucatini. My favorite is Penne. I use the right pasta for the right dish – unless no one is looking, then I use Penne. I use DeCeccio. I like it even a little firmer than al dente. Just a little bit more firm. In a pinch when I want something but have nothing, I dress pasta with homemade bread crumbs, olive oil,garlic and pecorino or parmigiano. I am a purist for my ingredients. But lately, by choice I use California olive oil. There is no authentic ingredient I can’t obtain where I live.
    I could use a good pasta with mushroom recipe.You have my email. No tomato.
    Although I confess, I haven’tcooked all summer. But now you’re making me crave my penne AOP.

    Like

    • I too love Penne! And I like pasta firmer than al dente 🙂 You’re doing it right, sistah! Sorry I can’t stand garlic, so I never use it (I know, I’m weird). De Cecco is a very good pasta brand, although my faved one is Garofalo (don’t know if they export).

      Like

        • ahahah I don’t like tomatoes very much… if I can I use tomato puree (not too dense, not too liquid) or cut pelati. I haven’t a fave brand. I don’t like the tomato skin so if I use fresh tomatoes I peel them before cooking. We usually use the San Marzano quality (the same one used to make sauce, pomarola) but I also like the Costoluto Fiorentino, a kind of tomato typical of my zone.

          Like

  3. Poor baby! I don’t know how he has survived his hectic schedule.

    I do have a question, though. Which interview is it with Andy Serkis, RA, and James Nesbitt where RA is holding the Apple laptop?

    Like

  4. What a labour of love, Katharine. Well done and thanks for the time and detective work you put into it! Love it. And I absolutely hate to see so much travelling going on. That can’t be restful, can it? But hey, that is just me – I love being in other places, but I hate getting there…

    Like

    • As I commented up thread, it really was just a little exercise I did to satisfy my own idle curiosity, but I thought others might find it interesting as well.
      You could say RA’s only ‘worked’ at his acting job for maybe 11 weeks this year so far- easy life, right? Hobbit pickups plus a couple of bits of Into The Storm. The reality is he’s covered a great deal of ground promoting The Hobbit one way or another, on both sides of the Atlantic and in the Antipodes as well, for which I thank him!

      Like

      • Maybe it is just 11 weeks acting, but I believe that acting itself really takes its toll and has much longer lasting repercussions for the actor. The job is tough – I wouldn’t want to do it, much less the connected promo work.

        Like

        • Absolutely, Guylty. I mentioned to someone else, that particular block of filming was exhausting- battle scenes etc, plus I got the distinct impression not enough time had been allocated, so they seemed very rushed trying to finish by the agreed date.

          My whole point was that an apparent ‘quiet’ year has actually been pretty gruelling.

          Like

  5. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 99: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

Leave a comment