Here We Go Again, With Hesitation. Time, Inc. Columnist. Chooses Armitage as Her Fantasy 007

 Here. Why the hesitation? Because I’ve been in these conversations before and I predict how they’ll go. Three issues are usually discussed: whether it would be a good career move; whether he would make a good Bond – not much opposition there and whether Bond is good enough for him. But hey, I saw the article, and I thought I should share.
Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 7.45.35 AMScreen Shot 2015-01-12 at 7.45.50 AM

Armitage as Bond is a topic that surfaces  with fans from time to time, usually when some photo like this is published:

R-Armitage_

source

It’s been the subject of discussion, or non-discussion, as the case may be, on and off with bloggers ( RAFrenzy, and Me and Richard, for example.  Entertainment writers get in on the game,, Tumblr is full of the idea  and there’s a web poll site to vote for the next Bond. Richard Armitage comes up first ( Ok it’s in alphabetical order).  I found a spoof/gossip site that just recently mentioned it here  ( well, that site also reported him dead). Even Richard Armitage, himself has weighed in on the question, statig that he’d prefer to be Bond villain.

U.K. Bookmakers have Armitage as Bond in their sites, ( here’s another, later spread one) . Current odds are 10 to 1 for him being cast as the next Bond, behind favorite, Idris Elba .  Reading these articles is a kick – Orlando Bloom’s odds are getting better all the time, though at least one critic described him as bland.

One  ( just one?) obstacle to Richard Armitage’s casting as Bond is his age. Some speculate that the producers want a new Bond who can film a few pictures, and at 43, Armitage maybe too old. I don’t think that should be an issue, as several actors have started as Bond at around the same age ( Pierce Brosnan) or played the role into their 50’s (Roger Moore, Sean Connery). The average age of actors playing Bond has been 43, and leading contender Idris Elba is 42. ( Which might be a reason why he might be passed over in favor of some younger actor. Orlando Bloom would not be a choice for me. He isn’t suave enough.

Anyway  everyone ages. Shouldn’t James Bond age, too?

So, why is Richard Armitage’s name so frequently paired with some new James Bond casting? I’m guessing that people think of British actors first, so that pares down the list. Looks are pretty important, and , at least for me, I like the idea of a dark-haired Bond ( Sean Connery is my model), so that’s  another tick in Richard Armitage’s column. A believable action hero is a necessity – check ( need I list Armitage’s credits here?). And, he’s got to be suave, sexy and seductive. Richard Armitage is sexy, he can be seductive (Moving On ) and in still photos, he can look suave, so  I’m going to assume that he can play suave. There’s a need for a certain wryness – those, meaningful, catchy lines have to be delivered just so. I think we’ve seen some of that in Spooks and Strike Back.

To me, the idea of Richard Armitage as James Bond is thrilling, frightening and anxiety producing.  It’s Big! Big! Big! The scripts are getting better in those films, but still, there’s not much hard acting required. It’s a big time commitment which might prevent him from taking meatier roles, and it’s another notch in his “action hero” belt, just when he’s accepted more complex roles.

And while a Bond villain might be a great opportunity, I can’t think of any special quality that sets Richard Arrnitage apart for that. I think bigger names are usually selected for the villains.

16 thoughts on “Here We Go Again, With Hesitation. Time, Inc. Columnist. Chooses Armitage as Her Fantasy 007

  1. I don’t know if I’m in the minority here, but I just don’t like the idea of Richard being Bond. But I’ve never liked Bond anyway; what he stands for, all that objectifying women and celebrating violence stuff… So perhaps its more that I wouldn’t want to see him as Bond because I don’t think that’s what he stands for as a person, for me. I’m sure he’d do a great job of it, and would probably add more complexity and flaw than a Bond has ever had, because that seems to be a natural part of his process, to incorporate this into his characters, make them rounded individuals; which for me, bond isn’t. I personally think he could do way better; more sophisticated and complex and interesting roles are just waiting for him out there. I think there is also the risk of typecasting; “the internally-conflicted action hero”… But hey, its his career, and I will be excited to see whatever happens!

    Like

  2. I’m generally up for a good action movie, so the potential casting of RA as James Bond bothers me not at all. Are there meatier roles out there? Absolutely, and I can’t wait to see what he does next. And I agree with Armitageitus- if he does do Bond, he’ll probably give the role more substance than expected. If he’s not interested in the role, or not offered it, I wouldn’t be heartbroken, either. But I do want to see more projects on his plate… I get anxious not knowing when the next Armitage movie or show is to be expected!

    Like

    • I think Armitage has played roles of characters he doesn’t necessarily stand for, and found elements in them to make it work ( John Mulligan comes to mind – and even Thorin at times. For me, that’s not an issue. As to the other, I am not sure that you *are* in the minority for having doubts about his playing Bond. But as we all say it’s up to him.

      Like

    • Many of us get anxious when there’s no word. At least now, though we don’t know when well them, there are three films where shooting has been complete, and two rather hazy projects in the future. There were times when there was absolutely nothing new happening.

      Like

  3. Idris Elba as Bond? *SQUEEE!* Oh sorry.

    I agree with the others. I’d accept him in the role since he would bring more complexity. But I’d like to see him in other things. On the other hand, actors his age tend to be cast in action roles with the sensitive character studies saved for the younger stars. If RA is forced down that route, the Bond role isn’t a bad way to go.

    Like

    • Yes, but, I was looking at the actor categories last night at the Golden Globes – Bill Murray, Michael Keaton, JK Simmons, and on and on There are definitely roles out there in Armitage’s age range.

      Like

  4. RA as Bond … mmmmmmmm … oh, what was I typing? 😉
    I have a soft spot for Bond. RA would definitely bring another layer to Bond’s character, above the action/adventure bit, perhaps even beyond the darker quality that Craig has infused the character with. And (warning: shallow observation ahead) we’d get to see him on the big screen in a tuxedo. He does Tuxedo so very well. *sigh*

    Like

    • I thought the same thing….good exposure in getting his name out there. I think he would make a great Bond. And knowing Richard, he would make Bond his own. Daniel Craig’s Bond is very different from his predecessors. I like the other selections, only I think it would be a step backwards for Eddie Redmayne.

      Like

  5. Hmmm…. I’m sure I posted a reply to this earlier today – but it’s all gone! Second try…
    I’m not a huge Bond fan but I do enjoy a Bond film on occasion… I’m with you judiang: SQUEEE on Idris Elba becoming Bond, I would love to see that! Richard as Bond – I don’t know, for some reason I don’t see him that way but if he were cast I am sure he would make it interesting! Don’t have a real preference one way or other.

    Like

  6. I don’t know how I feel about a Black James Bond. I get it that many roles could, and maybe should, be gender and race neutral, or anyway permit a shake-up, and I think in the case of Bond, so many different actors have played him that it’s hard to say any one look is Bond. ( I know that Idris Elba looks damned good in a tux, he can do action, don’t know enough about suave, can do seductive like a breeze. LIke Armitage, he may be too good an actor for the role). I don’t see any placement issues for a current day Black Bond – that is, a Black wouldn’t necessarily be out of place in the places Bond has to go, or anyway, the specific script can take that into account. I think it would be interesting – just as it would be interesting to have a femaie James Bond, but I don’t know if such a character would be James Bond in my book. On the other hand, I might prefer Idris Elba to any American. Clooney is too old and don’t think he can do the Brit accent.

    Like

Leave a comment