Catching Up to Thorin – A Conversation Between KatharineD and Perry -Part 1

KatharineD is a regular guest blogger on me+richard and a daily voice on numerous blogs devoted to Richard Armitage. Lately, she’s also been utilizing her Aussie advantage of always being a day ahead of Perry by alerting  her to breaking news and interesting stuff.

Katharine:    When my article ‘Playing Thorin’ part 1 and part 2 was posted on me+richard recently, it received quite a number of interesting comments, one of which was from Perry. It became clear to me that she came to the Armitage fandom after The Hobbit, and was the only person I knew who had not only missed seeing the movie at the cinema, but hadn’t been around for all the fanfare and hoopla as well.
I thought it would be interesting to hear Perry’s perspective on The Hobbit as a movie, and, even more importantly, Richard Armitage’s portrayal of Thorin.


K: Hi Perry- could you just set the scene and remind me when exactly you became a ‘real’ fan of Richard’s  I think you mentioned previously that Lucas North was your first RA character.

P:  Sure. In March of this year when I came upon MI5 during a British mystery marathon I was engaged in on Netflix, I was completely captivated by Lucas North and the actor seemed familiar to me. I watched the entire series, then all of Robin Hood and finally North and South again. When I saw N &S it finally connected, since I’d been impressed by Richard Armitage when I first saw it.  Needing more RA, I Spooks 9-MainGallery-Epi 700021went on-line to  find other works to watch, and in my searches, I came across links to ‘me+richard’. I started lurking. I followed Servetus’s blog roll to find more sites. Being able to share my admiration through the blogging community was what drew me in as a real fan.

K:  As I said in the introduction,you’re the only fan of RA that I’m aware of who didn’t discover him until after The Hobbit had completed its run at the cinema, so I’m interested to know what your experience of Tolkien’s and Peter Jackson’s worlds has been like.

Had you read any of Tolkien’s books?
    
P:  No, and I knew very little about Tolkien before my interest in RA developed. I didn’t watch Lord of The Rings until after I finally saw The Hobbit. A few years ago, I started to watch The Two Towers on commercial TV once and was totally lost and bored. I knew there were such beings as hobbits, probably by osmosis, and I recall now that one year there were  lots of trick-or-treaters dressed as elves and hobbits ringing the doorbell. As it was, even though it was available on Amazon for instant viewing,  I left watching The Hobbit for one of the very last Armitage works to see.
 
K:  Had you seen or been aware of any of Peter Jackson’s earlier films?

P:  Not at all. What I knew about Peter Jackson was that he and his crew swept the Oscars for The Return Of The King. Even that didn’t get me interested enough to find out more. If I’d known Viggo Mortensen and Sean Bean were in it, things might’ve been different, but I was too busy looking at the red carpet fashions to notice the groups of men arriving. 

K:  If I’d known you ten years ago, you certainly would’ve heard about Viggo and Sean, but that’s another story!

Were you aware of any of the publicity for The Hobbit before December last year? Would you say you keep track of new movie releases in general? 

P:  I don’t recall noticing the publicity for The Hobbit, although now I wonder how I could possibly have missed it. I read film  reviews in hobbitposterThe New York Times and New York Magazine,  but unless there’s something I’m particularly interested in for some reason, I usually just go along with what my friends want to see.  I’m always in a mad dash to see  most Oscar nominees unless the film is something I have absolutely no interest in. Besides Blue Jasmine which I  saw on opening day, the last film I can remember making a special effort to see as soon as it opened was Russell Crowe in Robin Hood.   Now, of course, I subscribe to a bunch of websites that track movies from their inception, because I’m looking for the next great role for Richard Armitage.

K: I wish you well with that particular enterprise! 

So, you said you left The Hobbit alone until you’d seen a lot of RA’s other work – was that because your experience with The Lord Of The Rings put you off, or aren’t you a fan of the fantasy genre in general?  

P: The Lord Of The Rings was such a bummer for me that it put me off The Hobbit. I like some fantasy. I’m a Harry Potter fan; I read and see everything to do with the Arthurian legend; I minored in Mythology as an undergraduate, so I like that sort of fantasy.  I’ve never seen or read any of the Narnia stuff and I dislike The Wizard Of Oz intensely. I think for a children’s book to resonate with me as an adult, it has to be something I discovered when I was a child – there has to be some nostalgia associated with it. I think not reading Tolkien as a young girl is the reason I never became a fan as an adult.

K:  I remember having to read TH as a school text, and didn’t particularly enjoy it, but as for other authors in the fantasy realm, I couldn’t get enough of C. S. Lewis and E. Nesbit. I was so upset when I’d read all their work and there were no more new books to look forward to!

OK, so you reached the point of watching The Hobbit – tell me, did you read anything at all about it before watching? Film reviews, blog articles, plot synopsis, or did you go in completely unspoiled?

P: Some elements filtered through, of course, because I was reading archives from the blogging community.  I tried to keep away from synopses, reviews and other spoilers as much as possible. On the whole, I would have to say that one Saturday morning I just gritted my teeth, said to myself, “how much Robin Hood can you watch?” and I settled in to watch it. So I was pretty much a virgin.

K:  What were your impressions after that very first viewing? I know you’ve seen it more than once, but what did you think of the movie as a whole that time, and RA’s role as Thorin in particular?
 
P:  Richard was wonderful as Thorin. Visually, he was just stunning. Some of the shots of him were breathtaking; his arrival at Bilbo’s, scenes as a young prince, whenever he was silhouetted. I was relieved that Peter Jackson went for majestic, regal and masculine instead of comical. I found the movie boring in many parts and difficult to follow. Some of it moved so fast I couldn’t really figure out everything that was happening, for example the fights with the trolls in their cave. It was one crisis and fight after another.  I couldn’t figure out what was happening with the rock monsters. I thought the attempts at humor were hokey. The scene with Gollum and Bilbo seemed to go on forever.
Source: RichardArmitageNet.Com

Source: RichardArmitageNet.Com

On the other hand, I was quite moved by the singing of ‘Misty Mountains’, and I was on the edge of my seat when Thorin was struck by Azog. The scenery was another story – I mean, you could watch the film just for that.

K:  This is where your experience and mine differ greatly – I had the joy of seeing RA as Thorin on the big screen, and on one occasion in 3D/ 48fps, but I wasn’t able to stop and rewind for a second or third look at particular scenes, of course. I think most people would agree there was a great deal of action that only became clear after multiple viewings, so you’re not alone there. I’m glad RA’s Thorin made such an impact on you, even if the rest of the movie let you down somewhat.

P:  Well, the movie didn’t let me down because I had really low expectations. Seeing RA on the big screen though, is going to be thrilling.

K: After that first viewing, did you then feel a need to immerse yourself in the vast amounts of press TH generated? Did you watch every interview, read every press report? I can only imagine how overwhelming that must’ve been when you arrived at that point.

P:  Once I had seen the film I allowed myself to do what I hadn’t done before; I watched interviews that were available on You Tube and read print articles, and that’s when everything changed for me. Ultimately, it was Richard Armitage himself who sold me on it, or rainterviewmade me want to look at The Hobbit in another way. He was so enthusiastic that he actually beamed when he spoke about Thorin, what the character meant to him, and what he tried to imbue his performance with, as he became Thorin Oakenshield. Of course, I was mindful that this was his first starring role in a major film, that it was incredibly important to him.

K:  RA’s passion for the role is tangible, isn’t it? You could never doubt his commitment to Thorin.

I’d imagine at some point you stumbled upon Peter Jackson’s video blogs?

P:   I spent a few hours watching all the production vlogs – twice. I was charmed by them, couldn’t get enough. The vlogs and the interviews also introduced me to the actors who played the other characters – mainly the dwarves, who until then were all a blur to me (I still don’t know all their names or who plays whom, but I’m getting there).

These vlogs had a big impact because once I was ‘behind the scenes’, as it were, watching as the film was coming together, I became more invested in it. Peter Jackson was brilliant in that way, because he made fans part of his project.
bootcamp
I read some reviews as well. Of course I wanted to know what the public and the critics thought of Richard’s performance, and the movie in general.

Just recently, I read as many archived blog posts as I could find written by Armitage bloggers, about how their first viewing of the film on the big screen affected them.

K: I quite agree that the video blogs are charming, they give a unique insight into TH movies, no matter at what point you get to watch them.

Did you watch the video of the Wellington premiere, by any chance? Watching that coverage, you can well imagine the excitement RA fans felt after such a long wait for the movie to be finished.

P: I saw clips of the premiere – I don’t know if it was the entire event, but even they were exciting. The set designs and decorations around the red carpet, the hobbit hole, the plane that flew over – I’d never seen anything like it. Richard’s  interviews, the introduction of the cast.  The excitement was palpable.

K: I think it’s safe to say, that was a red letter day in Armitage World!

Source: Kelly Duck

Source: Kelly Duck

Continued in Part 2 of Catching Up to Thorin – A Conversation Between KatharineD and Perry. Coming Soon.

65 thoughts on “Catching Up to Thorin – A Conversation Between KatharineD and Perry -Part 1

  1. What a wonderful interview! I really enjoy reading about other RA fan’s perspective. THIS needs to be a series!
    By the way I had NO IDEA you were such a newbie Perry. None what so ever! It feels like you’ve always been here 🙂
    It just proves my theory that new members of a fandom are adamant to delurk because they feel like we’re a close-knit community and won’t accept anyone new. In actual fact people just pop up one day in comments, on twitter etc. and we don’t even realise they weren’t here yesterday!

    Like

  2. It really is a unique perspective — I do think most of the “newbie” fans saw TH in the theater — you really have something to look forward to.

    Looking forward to part 2.

    Like

  3. Great interview, thanks to both for posting it!
    btw, I think I’m more newbie than Perry *blushing micra* because I totally ignored who RA was until I watched The Hobbit (I’m a Tolkien fan since 35 years) on my PC last January. Haven’t seen the movie at the theater (migraine problems, 3 hours were really scary for me) and never saw vlogs or interviews or videos since after watching the actual movie AND falling for RA. Since then I watched, searched and read all I could and you know how I’m *obsessed* with our dear man now. I agree on many things you both say but not about TH itself: I find it fantastic and the only scene I felt as too long is Riddle in the Dark. Got very bored by Gollum and Bilbo. And please consider that I wasn’t infatuated yet 😉 I don’t usually like fights but I found myself enthusiastic and excited during AUJ. About RA scenes I love and convinced me I *had* to check that particular actor are: Thorin arriving at Bag End, his conversation with Balin at Bag End, Misty Mountains song (oh dear, when I discovered it was actually him singing I think my heart lost a beat), Azulnabizar battle and the epic face to face with Azog.
    I must say that I ever had a great impression about Armitage Army and never felt excluded. I’m a proud newbie but I found love and that – with RA – really saved my mental health. Thank you and love to everyone in RArmy 🙂

    Like

    • So you and I have that in common – never saw RA on the big screen. Will you put aside your fears and see DOS? You must! I will come to Florence and hold your hand, or your head.(And we eat some of those desserts you’re always posting on Tumblr)

      Like

      • So love reached out and grabbed you through your computer screen, Micra- that’s pretty impressive. The power of The Armitage knows no boundaries!

        Like

  4. Yup that would be wonderful!!! Yes, this time I will go to the theater. My migraine has a bit improved after the nth therapy and I can only hope the movie won’t coincide with one of my weeks of hell 😦 Last December I was trying a therapy that made me feel worse than ever so it was really impossible for me to cope with a 3 hours movie. I can’t tell you how excited I am thinking about DoS in 3D and seeing RA on the big screen! And I really hope that Into the storm will be released also in Florence. 😀

    Like

      • sadly no, it will be dubbed 😦 They even translated and dubbed the songs! Terrible. It will be a bit of a shock seeing RA and listen to another voice. Then I will die waiting for the Dvd. Hard life of a fangirl. I can’t tell you how absurd the voice they gave him in Strike Back is *face palm* … high pitched, horrid. Thorin’s voice is far better but… I want RA voice! Here DoS will hit theater on 12 December 😉

        Like

  5. I am a newbie as well and have never seen Richard on the big screen. I didn’t really like TH but to be fair I have only watched it once. I liked it because it meant Richard was doing lots of interviews and attending events. I liked that he liked it and I loved what Peter said about him being able to draw the viewers attention with stillness.

    I have watched North and South, Robin Hood, Vicar of Dibley and MI-5 several times. I have also watched The Impressionists, Strike Back, Captain America and Cold Feet. I love reading all the fan articles and have watched and/or read all of the interviews I could find. I have never been a “fan” before but I enjoy the RA group immensely. It’s the first thing I check each morning as I follow many of your blogs. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Catching Up With Thorin – A Conversation Between KatharineD and Perry -Part 2 | Armitage Agonistes

  7. very interesting interview, I loved it! I liked hearing about your first impressions, Perry 🙂 I didn’t read LOTR/Hobbit until my early 20’s, but I fell in love with Middle-Earth right away 🙂 I wonder if I would love The Hobbit movie as much if I didn’t have that prior connection? so many critics say that the beginning in Bag End is too long, but it’s my favorite part probably due to that first impression I had when reading it. by the same regard, I’m looking very forward to the barrel scene in the next movie 🙂

    Like

  8. What an interesting journey! Perry, I thought you were here for years. Isn’t it funny how we all start at different points but end up in the same place.

    I can’t keep my mouth shut about Riddles in the dark! It’s the central scene of the whole story, TH and LOTR, and I was delighted to see it on screen. Incredible as it may sound, I was too busy enjoying the film to fall in love with Thorin. It was seeing RA in vlogs that did it for me. The rest, as they say, is history.

    Like

    • So funny, Riddles wasn’t a favorite first time around, though I guessed one (since I didn’t read the book, I didn’t know the answer ahead of time);having said that, once I watched the LOtR trilogy, the scene made much more sense to me – because at the time of The Hobbit, I didn’t know the real significance of the ring.

      Like

      • I got goosebumps when the Riddles in the Dark scene finally came on the big screen. I still remember the riddles/answers and that’s what made the film for me – since PJ had changed so much that I needed something straight from the book that I could hold onto. But then I could be called a Tolkien purist though…

        Like

          • I hated Thorin in the book so I’m glad that the appendices fleshed him out and I love Richard’s portrayal of Thorin. I wanted to punch book-Thorin in the face so many times but then Tolkien just didn’t seem to like dwarves as much as he absolutely adored elves, especially in The Hobbit. But as far as hobbits go, I wanted to be a hobbit after reading that book the first time – what’s not to like about a race that lives under the hill (ecologically sound judgment – cool in summer, warm in winter), doesn’t have to worry about shoes and loves to eat!).

            Already PJ’s version leaves so many of those new-to-Tolkien’s-universe confused. I see the reasons why the changes were made, film-wise – but only if he were making two movies. To make a trilogy out of a simple story (even if he’s dragging out stuff from the appendices, and even then he changes said appendices to suit his own canon) and not keep to half of the book-canon is, to me, a disservice to Tolkien.

            I know I will have a major problem with the second film because I am so against the creation of Tauriel which to me, was to pander to the audience. If the source material is so huge that PJ has to expand it to three movies, why add a totally useless character to further a plot that does not need any furthering. Even though he’s supposedly wanted to add female energy to the story, it didn’t need it at all. But it will sell lots of merchandise and empower girls. But to me, it still doesn’t make it right (as much as I like Evangeline Lilly).

            So I guess, despite the wonderful depiction of dwarves in the movie, I’m 50% disappointed in the whole trilogy. But Thorin I’m so behind Richard’s portrayal of him 1000%. Anyway, off my soap box now.

            Like

            • I suspect PJ wanted to make enough room for the events at Erebor in the third film, and then needed to beef up the second film a bit. You’re right about Tolkien not liking the dwarves so much – I must admit I like the changes made in that department. I’ve got really high hopes for the final film and seeing how Thorin/Bilbo relationship develops – RA sounded so excited about it!

              Like

              • If he had wanted to beef up the second film, he had 13 dwarves right there for the taking. Flesh them out and give the dwarves more dimension – not just Thorin and Balin.

                But PJ’s pulling out Dol Guldur and the Necromancer (who is Sauron gaining strength beneath Dol Guldur) and the imprisonment of Thrain (Thorin’s father), whom Gandalf (in the movie, he’s with Radagast) discovers there and gets the key to Erebor though at that time Gandalf does not know it’s Thrain.

                That’s understandable.

                Tauriel (again my opinion) is not. But it remains to be seen though.

                I am looking forward to the second film for the Dol Guldur scenes because I want to see how PJ handles Thrain’s fate (poor line of Durin – they just don’t get any breaks) and how the dwarves fare in Mirkwood after leaving Beorn’s house.

                Like

              • Yup, you’re right – we didn’t learn much about Thrain in the books so that’ll be interesting. I’m still neutral about Tauriel – DEFINITELY unnecessary but might turn out okay.

                Like

  9. Such an interesting interview. I have a pet theory one of you bloggers may have explored and I just haven’t come across it. If you first discover RA in work that is dubbed, did he still appeal to you without “the voice”? To me, his voice is as important as his looks in turning us into oofing fangirls, It’s like the movie “Love Potion Number 9”. We have no defense against it. I am not dismissing his looks which are devastatingly wonderful, but the voice draws us in to our doom.

    Like

    • I first discovered RA when watching the N&S DVD in the German dubbed version, but I pretty soon had switched over to the English original version, as the German voices hadn’t worked for me at all. I could manage with the subtitles and with a couple of rewindings and repeatings, finally understanding most of the series somewhat properly. Unnecessary to mention my English has improved appreciably within the last 3 years, for Richard has to talk English! No way I can listen to him in another language. I need his voice! This was definite from the beginning, maybe not from the very first second, but from the second sec … 🙂

      Like

  10. Anyway ladies, thanks for this interesting interview. Enjoyed reading it. Such a lot of different ways to end up here in RA world, in constant adoration…… 😀

    Like

  11. I’m another who didn’t realise Perry was so new. Or micra, so it just goes to show this fandom is inclusive if you look in the right places.

    This was a great interview – for me it was thrilling to hear Perry didn’t like Tolkien as a child and was bored watching the original LOTR films. Me too! I thought I was the only one. I enjoyed TH but I don’t think I would have bothered if it had not been for RA.

    Like

    • Hopefully other new people will realise you don’t have to have been a fan of RA for years to either start a blog about him, or just leave comments on one of the sites. We’re here for all comers!

      I think Perry’s admission about not enjoying Tolkien per se might free up other people who feel the same way, but didn’t want to express a possibly unpopular opinion.

      Like

      • Most of the Armitage bloggers I’ve known anyway have not been longterm fans before they started blogging — there are a few notable exceptions; Frenz is one. But most of them were extremely or at least relatively new fans when they started. There’s something about feeling the need to write that pushes the blog out (over the forum or commentator experience).

        Like

      • I think so, Katharine. Whenever i say i don’t like Tolkien, i am usually met with incredulity. It’s been a bit of a guilty secret up until today!

        Like

        • Go on Bolly, tell us what you really think! I would trust the RA fandom never has a rule that we all have to like the source material, in order to enjoy the project, be it movie, TV series or whatever else. No rule that we can’t dislike the work itself, for that matter, either, and feel free to say exactly that.

          Like

          • Oh well… (deep breath)..you did ask..

            Like Perry, i didn’t enjoy TH as a child (i was more of a Secret Garden and Black Beauty kind of girl) and i remember watching the first of the LOTR films with OH and being very very bored. I also had my doubts about PJ due to his (IMO) awful adaptation of one of my favourite books, The Lovely Bones. That took a lot of forgiving.

            So when i heard that RA had been cast as Thorin, my cup did not runneth over with joy. During the droughts i have been quite peeved about it all – thinking i wouldn’t even enjoy the end product. But i held in my mind that this was something RA wanted to do and as a good fangirl i should be supportive. And, after all, who would have thought i would enjoy something like Strike Back (which i did, most definitely 😉 )

            I DID enjoy the film ; I’ve seen it three times at the movies – once in IMAX 3D which was not good, once in 48fps 3d, which was very good, and once in 2D at the Popcorn Taxi event which was absolutely brilliant. That night was magical – not just because RA was there but also because i was surrounded by fans (Tolkien and RA) and the excitement and enthusiasm was infectious. I’ve also got the DVD and i think i have watched it once.

            Thorin is still not a favourite character for me. If i hadn’t already been a fan, i would never have gone to see TH, and a lot of the publicity would have passed me by. I thought RA did a superb job in the role, as i always knew he would, but i hope this won’t be the role for which he is remembered – i really hope there is better to come.

            Like

            • It was actually me who didn’t much enjoy the book as a child- you know what I remember?- a mountain and a dragon!
              It never occurred to me what it would be like to wait so long for an end product you thought you’d hate- aargh. I did enjoy LOTR movies, so I guess that’s where we differ.

              Like

          • Bollyknickers, I’m replying here to your explanation below because there’s no other place to do it. I never read the books as a child, and like you, I was a Black Beauty, Green Mansions (does anyone remember that?) forgive me, Nancy Drew, Anne of Green Gables, like that. I didn’t read too many children’s books at all. I read more grown-up books pretty early.
            And by the way, I only recently learned that PJ did “The Lovely Bones” also a favorite of mine and I didn’t think the film captured the book at all. Thanks to Katharine, I recently watched King Kong by PJ, and to my surprise, I liked it best of all the King Kongs, although I didn’t feel as attached to this ape as I did to the very original one.

            Like

  12. In my case you, Servetus, were instrumental because through my comments and some emails I perceived that some of what I had to say was worthy of discussion. Not everything worked out as I planned ( one or two incisive, analytical posts a week on Armitage work turned into almost 100 posts in 90 days, many news reports)- but what the hell.
    Armitage is the pull, but the blogging community is the push.

    Like

  13. Pingback: DOS – My first take [mild spoilers unless you've stayed in the dark] | Armitage Agonistes

Leave a comment