Ticket Tricks for Love, Love, Love

Love_1000x381I’ve been reading that some fans are disappointed because they are not getting great seats.

The play is in a very small theater, so while we, as fans, want to be as up close as possible,  preferably within spitting distance ( no kidding), there should be good sight lines from all seats, including side seats. And of course, if there is a stage door appearance, you’ll get an opportunity to get up close. (I don’t expect anything like what we saw at The Crucible, since the audience will be so much smaller in NYC)

You should also consider that better and more seats may become available after subscribers receive their assigned dates, which I am told, will be in August. This might be slightly outdated news, (check with the box office or wait for my update it as soon as I have that information).

Subscribers can exchange their tickets for another night or donate them back to the theater if they cannot or do not want to go at all ( and it’s a tax deduction for them). Also, some subscribers are assigned a certain number of preview dates, and they want to change them for dates after the opening.  This means that for a period after subscribers get their assignments, there is a flurry of exchanges. Subscribers start out with the best seats, so better seats and more tickets may become available.

In addition, subscribers are entitled to up to  additional tickets, so the theater holds some seats back for a while, waiting for this to shake out.

I’m also considering that the play runs on certain nights when subscribers may not want to go, for example over Columbus Day weekend and Thanksgiving, when many New Yorkers leave town (or are busy cooking), and on the Jewish High Holy Days.

There have been cases when, just as a person was on the phone with a ticket agent and ready to book a so-so seat, a better seat popped up on the screen.

Single ticket holders cannot exchange tickets, but if you can afford it, you might find a better ticket later if you keep checking the website or call the box office periodically and then, perhaps, sell  or donate your unwanted, first ticket.  And certainly if you are unable to get a ticket, for example if your  available dates are limited, you should keep a watch out, and keep trying. The ticket situation  will become  fluid, in my opinion.

I know not all of this works for those of you who also need to make travel plans, but you never know what luck you might have, especially if you plan on staying in New York a few days, or can change your flights and hotel. So, please, consider being proactive and check availability frequently.

Finally, any fans who get locked out and cannot get a ticket, please let the fandom know through our fan sites and Twitter, and maybe someone can help. Perhaps a fan may have a ticket she thought she would use but cannot, booked for more nights then she can go, has a companion who backed out – you never know.

Here’s the official RTC Ticket Policy.

 

16 thoughts on “Ticket Tricks for Love, Love, Love

  1. these fans should stop complaining about their seats and be happy that they are going to see Mr. Richard Armitage perform and then(maybe) they get to see him up close and (maybe) talk to him after the performance. I have this fear of heights but if I was going to see Mr. Richard Armitage and the only ticket I could get is in the nose bleed section then I am going to get a bloody nose because I want to see Mr. Richard Armitage.

    Like

  2. I didn’t write that fans were complaining: I wrote they were disappointed, and it was my own interpretation of what I read. I suppose I could have written that fans were “reporting” . . . Anyway, I think everyone lucky enough to see the play, is happy about it. They could just be a little happier if they were a little closer.

    Like

  3. I did a lot of research before buying tickets. The photo and virtual reality thing-y of the Laura Pels Theatre on the Roundabout website, but especially comments on the Internet from previous audience members for other productions, seem to confirm your speculation that here are no bad sight lines. Lots of praise for the mezzanine too. I get the interest in physical proximity to Mr. A, but in general sounds like a great place to see a play regardless of where you sit.

    Stage door: I say this with NO authority and wouldn’t want to raise false hope, but according to several audience member accounts on the Internet and a website on NY theater stage door locations, because the Pels Theatre is in the basement of the complex, the actors leave through the main entrance at street level like everyone else. IF this is true, it may mean Mr. A will have no choice but to greet people who stick around long enough afterward. We shall see how it plays out!

    Like

    • Thanks for the info. If Ok with you, I will share it in a later post. I never thought of checking other audience members’ experience. BTW – my usual preference for theater, is somewhere around fifth to 12th row center, or as long as it is not under the Balcony, and first few rows Mezz. The Mezz is quite good, even in larger theaters.

      Like

      • That’s fine. Yes, I agree with your seating preferences. It’s the quality of zones beyond those sweet spots that can be very theater-specific, which is when audience comments have proven helpful for me in the past.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks, that was really a really thoughtful and helpful post. I can’t be going but for those who are, have a wonderful time!

    Like

  5. Thanks for the details Perry, I am hoping to go to NYC, however due to my crazy life/schedule from day to day, the hubs and I never (hardly ever) buy tickets for concerts anymore. We go to the venue and purchase whatever we can before we walk in. Hubs scored sweet first row tickets to a Clapton concert that way for $100 bucks once, but generally we have to wait to see if we (usually me) can escape from work to go. Until I actually have a flight booked, I won’t try to buy tickets for this one either. After reading your post, it sounds like taking a chance to see what shakes out daily while in NYC might even be a good thing if I can’t get two seats together.😈

    Like

    • It sounds like your willing to or have to wing it. I think you might get lucky. But, I would be careful about booking a flight and then going to NY without a ticket unless you can live with the result, enjoy the trip and try to see something else.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can live with making the flight and not getting a ticket. There are friends, business, etc to do in NYC that it would not be a waste or regrettable in the least. If I get a flight, then I will try to buy a ticket, but I can’t risk buying a ticket(s) without knowing I’ve committed to a flight first. Either way, I will make the most of my time there, if I can get away. 🐶

        Like

          • I will try to coordinate with the hubs, but if I go alone, it would not be the first time. Nor would it be the first time we each have seen plays their alone. Even if it is the same performance we both want to see. Better to see it alone than miss it altogether, right? 😈Oddly, we have both been to NYC alone more than with each other and always work related. Still the few times we’ve been in NYC together, it was fun. Either way, don’t want to miss this one if I can help it.🌞

            Like

        • Also, if you do have trouble getting tickets for when you want, let the fandom know. It’s possible someone will have extras due to any number of circumstances – the least likely of which is that someone but tkts for multiple perfs, saw the play and hated it. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • Is there a central area where a lot of fans post this sort of thing, or would I put in a note here? Not that I have time, with ComicCon in my face 24/7 right now, but . . . Suggestions in case I can’t buy from Theater?

            BTW-have I expressed thanks for your helpful tips? If not, thank you❗️🌞

            Like

Leave a Reply

