HAPPY EASTER

Easter Eggs in Basket

To all celebrants. My Jewish mother never met a Christian festival/ holiday she didn’t love, so we did dye Easter eggs, I was given a chocolate bunny, or sometimes a popcorn one, and I often had an Easter bonnet, worn to visit non-Jewish friends of my parents, though it took many years before I learned there wasn’t actually a “real” Easter parade on Fifth Avenue.

Now, I don’t celebrate Easter, except in so far as it involves a meal. This year, after a regional theater production of a very Jewish play (Other Desert Cities) it will be, not a brunch, but a chance to enjoy what amounts to  Thanksgiving Dinner ( my fave).

What are your family traditions for Easter?

10 thoughts on “HAPPY EASTER

  1. It’s nice to have an occasion to celebrate with friends 🙂 we always used to go visit some friends of the family who were catholic and cut a red painted egg into slices for everyone and shared it and this was supposed to be a sign of spending the next Easter together as well. It was a nice tradition.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes I boil eggs and dye them, which always reminds me of childhood. One of my favorite books as a child was about Easter traditions. It was called “Lilies, Rabbits, and Painted Eggs.”

    Like

  3. Happy Easter!

    When I was little, Easter was a big deal, both spiritually and culturally. Lots of Italian-centric dishes and baked goods. My Easter baskets had all kinds of treats. And, of course, coloring eggs. 🙂 Having the perfect outfit (complete with an Easter hat) was imperative.

    When our kids were little, we followed some of the traditions, but not all. Yes, the ubiquitous colored eggs, but with a twist only our two could possible put on it. (They were quite, umm, creative, yeah, that’s the word. *giggle*) Easter baskets were filled but not with just candy. Little science kits for eldest. Cooking utensils and children’s cookbooks for youngest. We focused more on family — visiting great-grandparents, grandparents and aunts/uncles or having them come to our home. Egg hunts with the cousins were always the high point for the kids. (Easter outfits were planned with egg hunts in mind.) And always, food. Lots of food. Oh, and don’t forget the “Bunny Cake”! (Family inside joke. 🙂 )

    These days, our celebration is centered around making peach turnovers and joking about not having to remember where all the eggs are hidden. 😉 Easter outfits are sweats and t-shirts.

    And while I sort of miss some of the controlled chaos that yesterEaster was, I quite like this quieter version. Definitely!

    Like

  4. My memories of Easter as a child were family, church and a day of specialty foods, in the Italian tradition. Grain pie, the bread with colored, hard boiled eggs twisted in, all sorts of special pastries. Our Easter finery oncluded gloves, a bonnet with ribbons, and shiny patent leather mary janes? We had a jelly bean hunt with packages of beans wrapped up (guess that was easier than finding eggs the kids might’ve missed). Chocolate lambs or bunnies, but also books, specialty items like a little ring or trinket, lip glosses…there were mostly girls. ..lol. We’d watch movies, The Ten Commandments or The Greatest Story Ever Told. Also, Easter Parade. I kept many of theses traditions for my own family, but added the coloring of eggs and made the clothes more comfortable as they got older. Teens now, they still love the baskets, but I was sad that this was the first year no one wanted to color eggs. Oh well, I will go do it with my young nieces and nephews ! Hope all the celebrations for those who include Easter in their traditions were wonderful! 🐑🐣🐇 I’m recuperating today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

