Happy Halloween y Feliz Dia De Los Muertos

Screen Shot 2015-10-31 at 9.00.21 AM

A Catrina. There are a number of larger than life-sized ones  in the village plaza this weekend, all crafted by school children.

I am told that Halloween itself, became popular in my part of Mexico, mainly because of all the expats living here, but The Day of the Dead is one, big important holiday, mostly celebrated in cemeteries.

Anyway, wherever you are, and whether you celebrate Halloween, All Soul’s Day of Dia De los Muertos, enjoy.

pumpkin-thorin-kopia

Source

5 thoughts on “Happy Halloween y Feliz Dia De Los Muertos

  1. Thanks, Perry. We celebrate 2nd November as Giornata dei Defunti, the Day of the dead. Is a big Catholic celebration, corrupted into a commercial feast for florists and people seeking for charity. But I can celebrate, and remember, my dead in my mind. The only place they still are and forever will be, until I’ll be dust too. Good Dia De los Muertos everyone.

    Like

  2. Thank you and to you too.
    Halloween is increasing in popularity in Denmark; it’s all becoming very spooky🎃🎃🎃👻👻👻
    I lived in Spain for a number of years where they celebrate Todos los Santos. At night they remember their departed by lighting candles on their graves. That too has been transported to DK. A Protestant country is adapting Catholic customs. Pretty neat😀
    Enjoy your day/night.

    Like

  3. Thank you, hope you had a few good days at weekend. Halloween not my thing at all, i’m so used to celebrating the dead family members… and being far away makes it feel very different.. It is all too commercial for me to connect with any of it. But i like the way the Mexicans celebrate Dia de los muertos, it must feel very different growing up with a tradition like that.

    Like

  4. I’m not Mexican, but it seems they made it into a less depressing holiday than would be expected ( except if the death was recent). Aside from celebrations in graveyards, households have shrines in front of their houses, with photos of their loved ones, and they offer food and drink to visitors , even strangers, as well. It’s like one big street fair. I’m Jewish, so our “day of the dead” is the anniversary of the deaths of our loved ones. We light a 24 hour candle and, if you’re really good, you say a special prayer, that’s also said at regular services, and a few special times a year. Also, it’s traditional to visit the cemetery and lay a stone on the the grave of your relative. I can do part of that now ( everything but the grave visit). As for Halloween, I lived in a safe neighborhood and in those days we could trick or treat in groups, without parental chaperones and we all had homemade costumes. I think my mother liked it more than I did. She put my costume together ( she couldn’t sew a stitch, so I was often a bride, a gypsy or an angel ) And every year, we carved a jack o’ lantern, with varying success. She wound up eating most of the candy and the roasted pumpkin seeds.
    A sad change was that , when growing up, some of the sweet offerings were homemade cakes, cupcakes, cookies, candy apples and so forth. But some miscreants throughout the country were putting razor blades in apples and other bad ingredients, so after a while, you just couldn’t give out anything that was homemade or unwrapped. If I ever needed a costume as an adult, I simply brought out my trusty cheerleader uniform, saddle shoes and shakers and that was that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

