Richard Armitage and Perhaps the Origins of his Kinesthetic Sense

Learning ( or speculating) about details of Richard Armitage’s  acting training, is one of my favorite About Armitage categories.I’ve written about it before, here, for example.

You might recall that in his notorious blog post for CyberSmile, Richard Armitage referred to kinesthetic sense.

In interviews, Armitage has frequently talked about how he used movement to portray his characters, and what they’re thinking and feeling. Interviews about John Proctor, Thorin Oakenshield and recently, Francis Dolarhyde come to mind. It boils down, for me, for an actor to know his or her  body intimately, and how to move it in relation to what’s around him or her to achieve a purpose. (Makes me wonder why he can’t keep still during interviews and panels.)

tumblr_noplv6zvvu1rdkqqyo1_500

Richard Armitage as Francis Dolarhyde, in Hannibal.

Source  

So what is some of the movement training Richard Armitage might have had?  I found out Here.

7 thoughts on “Richard Armitage and Perhaps the Origins of his Kinesthetic Sense

  1. Hello Armitage Agonistes! Many thanks for linking to my blog. Richard was always a brilliant, graceful actor from the start – he arrived a fully-formed ‘triple threat’, as we say: he could act, sing and dance wonderfully. It was no surprise to any of us that he went on to such success.

    Like

    • Welcome, and thanks for the comment. I read some of your earlier posts. I’ll be back frequently. Definitely a first for me, and my readers – hearing from a classmate of Richard Armitage. It looks, from your CV, that you’re keeping busy as well. Best of luck.

      Like

        • Thanks. BTW, I also enjoyed the comments on that post: actors speaking of their most personal influential teachers and coaches. How I found the post initially was via a google alert on Di Trevis, who was cited at least once by one of your commenters as a favorite teacher. I met Ms. Trevis and her student and colleague ( and your classmate, I gather), Annabel Capper at a reading at the NY 92d St. Y ( The Pinter/Proust Screenplay) – along with, I might add, Richard Armitage. I’ve written about it extensively ( around January 2014).

          Like

  2. Pingback: A Word to Perry from a LAMDA Classmate of Richard Armitage | Armitage Agonistes

  3. So glad you found this, Perry! I found it fascinating, and I hope to read more of Chris Naylor’s blog too 🙂 A wonderful window into the actor’s world for us, the uninitiated….Thanks again to both of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

