Evidence Surfaces to Confirm – TABA Pick-ups in NZ for May

nebitt+hobb_Cropped[ETA: the news was first published by SahRAObsessed on Tumblr, who is always on the ball for news.]

Micra alerted me to this article about the financial health of James Nesbitt’s Irish film and entertainment company, Brown Cow. Buried in the article, but not from Micra’s sharp eyes ( “you have keen eyes Master Baggins, [Thorin smiles]) is the last sentence:

“Nesbitt confirmed that he is returning to New Zealand in May for the filming of the third ‘Hobbit’ movie.”

The article in the Independent.I.E. also said that Brown Cow posted increased profits in 2013, attributable to work on TH,  of  £335,000, an increase over those posted for the prior year.  Of course, Jimmy’s daughters probably had a part in generating profits since they both had roles in TDOS and TABA.

So, pick-up again. Richard  Armitage likely off to New Zealand again. His wish ( and ours) that his character not be CGI’d , perhaps fulfilled.  And should we think or hope that some of the additions and edits  fans have been craving might be implemented? Some explanations. More scenes in the Halls of the Woodland Elves with Thranduil.  It also means several weeks when Richard Armitage can’t be working on some other project and more fodder for gossip mongers if Thranduil’s scenes are part of the pick-ups.

Who knows? But it warms my heart a little to know that Richard Armitage will have a few more weeks in a place he loves, New Zealand, inhabiting a character he finds exciting and challenging.

32 thoughts on “Evidence Surfaces to Confirm – TABA Pick-ups in NZ for May

  1. Ah, well. I never know what to do first when I start my blogging day with coffee. I start with email because I can check alerts, talk to friends and also see what new posts have been made. I know I should check Tumblr early on, but it takes so long to see the new stuff, so Tumblr is now last and Twitter comes right after email and WP. So, to whoever unearthed the article on Tumblr – thank you.

    Like

  2. I’m going to hold you to this piece of news, Perry- it must be true, because you’ve just posted it.
    Who do I need to contact, to remind RA how nice the weather was in Sydney last April/May, and just how welcoming we were down here? Just a small detour en route….

    Like

      • Have a listen and let me know what you think- at least one memorable, amusing fact came out of this interview, if I recall correctly. You’ll know when you hear it, it’s been discussed quite a bit since then!

        Like

    • So that’s where the lighted farts come from. I can live without it. But it is a good interview and he was in a wonderful and funny mood. Interesting that no one picked up on his parents’ names being John and Margaret – for the reasons we care, not the other.

      Like

      • I had actually realized the names of his parents were John and Margaret but never thought to mention it. I re read N & S when in the Uk in October and realized the same names. RA must have been born to play John Thornton. Still my favorite of all of his roles.

        Like

  3. All I have to say is: SAVE THORIN!! (snort) And now that’s out of my system… (dreaming of lovely Hobbit cast members reuniting one more time in NZ)

    Like

  4. Pingback: Armitage Weekly Round-Up Week 2 | I Want to be a Pin Up

Leave a comment